Injustice 2 Championship Series – Oh, We In There!

NetherRealm Studios, for all its flaws, has actually been really good in supporting its dedicated competitive community. With Injustice 2 on the horizon, they announced its own competitive league/eSports thing. It’s not too dissimilar to Capcom’s Pro Tour. They already supported the community in MKX a lot with the huge pot bonuses, ESL, and I think a few other things. But this is “big time” now.

I don’t want to get too much into the specifics as it’s all on the official Injustice website.

I love that this is happening. Some of the stuff for MKX was a little to eSports for my liking, but it was overall great and the community was still themselves. I expect it to be no different here, especially with even more community members and players actually working for NRS now. This will also get a lot more people, generally from other fighting games, more involved and dedicated to the game. I still expect a large chunk of people to quit after the first year, as it, unfortunately, always is for NRS games, but I don’t think it’ll be as bad this time around. Even before all this announcement, I had seen a lot of non-NRS-players seeming genuinely interested the game and saying they’ll actually give it a legitimate shot. If even a quarter of them keep that promise to themselves, the NRS community will see some substantial growth.

share

As far as myself is concerned, I’ve already said that Injustice 2 is going to be my primary focus, so naturally I’m going to compete in this series as much as I can. The easiest thing for me to do will be the GameStop online thing, since I can do that from home until I make it to the regional finals by some miracle, then I’d just have to go to LA which I’ve done plenty of times. I definitely do not expect to make it far or get any money out of it. I just love the opportunity to compete and improve. That’s not being pessimistic, just realistic. People have been grinding for years while I’ve been slacking. Sure, I was focusing on school, but I still could’ve been a lot better than I am now.

Anyways, outside of the GameStop thing, I’ll try to travel to event on the tour as much as possible, but I don’t know how much I’ll be able to because I don’t know what I’m going to be doing yet for my career. At the very least, I should be able to go to EVO and SCR (if either of them are on the tour). EVO I’m already signed up for and SCR is local to me, so hopefully that shouldn’t be too much of a problem.

I expect to get my butt handed to me for a while. I’ll have someone to train with offline and I’ll definitely be looking for good people online to play as well, but, again, just being realistic. At this point, I’m just trying to learn. Once I gain more experience and get better, then I’ll start looking to win. Of course, I’ll always try to win, but I won’t be too disappointed if a top player wrecks me.

As far as characters go, there’s a lot of them I’m interested in. I won’t go into that too much here but I’ll list a few that have really caught my eye. Green Lantern has been looking particularly strong and he was my main in Injustice 1, so I’ve got that legacy learning. He does have quite a few new tools, but they shouldn’t be too hard to adapt too. Superman too for the same reason (he was my secondary) and he’s almost exactly the same. Both will give me a slight head start against other low-level players. As far as new characters go, the 3 I’m most interested in are Scarecrow, Deadshot, and Darkseid. Deadshot is not all that dissimilar to Deathstroke (another one of my secondaries in Injustice 1), but with more emphasis on the keepaway and with less up close options. Scarecrow and Darkseid because they just look cool. I’m also interested in Starfire (one of my favorite DC characters) and Red Hood (because he’s just cool), but gameplay is still pending on them as well as the other upcoming DLC characters. We’ll see who I end up sticking with. GL will very likely be one of my primary characters for a while, especially if he’s high to top tier, which I’m speculating he might be given what we’ve seen so far, though it’s still too early for that; the game isn’t even out after all.

injustice-2-green-lantern
Beware my power and catch these hands!

All in all, I’m super hyped for all this and can’t wait to finally get more involved in the FGC. I’ve kind of just been a stream monster and fan for the past few years, but now, I want to try and make some sort of a name for myself, even if it’s just in my local scene. I now I have a LONG ways to go and it won’t be easy, but I’m more than ready for that. It’s all kind of coming full circle for me now. Injustice 1 was my first fighting game. Now Injustice 2 will be the first fighting game I can actually dedicate myself too. Arguably, that first one I tried to dedicate myself too was USF4, but not really. I joined so late into that game too. Now, I’ll be out of school and have a fairly consistent schedule. Naturally, I won’t be able to be completely hardcore like a lot of the sponsored and top players will be, but I’ll be able to focus more time on a fighting game than I ever have before.

 

Leave a Reply

