Posted in Blog Posts, Music, Reviews

Gorillaz – Humanz Review (so far)

So the Gorillaz have come out with new music recently. I can’t say I’m the biggest Gorillaz fan, but I did enjoy some of their older stuff, like many others who grew up around that time. I really only knew the popular stuff, but I still respected them as musicians. I wasn’t particularly excited that they were coming out with new stuff, but I wasn’t angry or anything either; overall, I was just intrigued.

Compared to how I’ll typically review games and movies, I have a higher standard for music. For movies and games, I’d be willing to spend money on things I consider to be 5/10 on a critical scale. For music, I’ll only buy if I find it to be a 7/10. 6s I’d consider if they hit the right notes for me (no pun intended). 5 is considered fairly mediocre/ok. Their might not be anything really wrong with the song, but you’re not missing out on anything if you’ve never heard it. Now, onto these new songs.

To be quite frank, I don’t like them. I think they’re generic at best, complete garbage at worst. If that’s all you wanted to know, stop here. But if you want to know what I think of each of the new songs individually or my more in-depth thoughts, then continue.

Saturnz Barz (Spirit House) – 5/10 (3/10, first listen)

I believe this is supposed to be their big single. It was the first one uploaded and has a fancy music video. It even has two uploads, one for 3D or VR or something. Not quite sure how those videos work. Hated this song upon first listen. Another listen or two and I’ve warmed up to it a little, but I still would not qualify it as good. I actually want to rate it higher, but it has some parts that I just find completely awful.

It’s somewhat catchy, somewhat epic, and even a little bit addicting. It’s kind of a creepy song, which I kind of like and it goes with the music video. However, some of the singing/rapping is pretty bad (particularly some of the auto-tuned stuff), the bass gets kind of obnoxious, and the song drags on for too long. The beat is simultaneously good and terrible, unique and generic. And at certain points, the song just drops drastically in quality for me. I can’t exactly describe it, I just can’t stand brief parts of it. Honestly, if this song was 1:00-1:30, with a lot of stuff cut out, I might have even considered it good. But it’s not. I guess the music video is cool though…

Let Me Out – 5.5/10

The newest song released. In my opinion, the best one so far. But that’s not necessarily a good thing in this case. Like Saturnz Barz, I almost want to give it a better score, but I just quite can’t. It’s really just the beginning rap that I dislike that’s keeping this from being a solid 6 or higher. I won’t go so far as to call it bad, but something just irks me about it. The rest of the song is pretty decent, but nothing all that special. Also like Saturnz Barz, this song is kind of epic. At the same time though, it’s also sort of boring and generic.

We Got The Power – 3.5/10

To me, this kind of just sounds like some cheesy cartoon song. And not for a good cartoon either. Either that or for some bad live-action kids’ show. Pretty boring and generic sounding (noticing a trend yet?) and it kind of just…ends. If the song built up to something interesting after the ending, this song might have been decent. But it didn’t. It just stops.

Ascension – 2/10

Hot garbage. For starters, the lyrics are absolutely terrible. I’m not one who really pays attention to lyrics all that much, but when they’re this obvious, it’s hard not to notice how trash they are. I couldn’t listen to this song all the way through and I still can’t. The beat and rap kind of work together and also don’t work together at all at the same time. It’s like they’re just slightly off from each other. Not like the rap is particularly good anyways, but still. Neither is the beat for that matter. Just something generic and annoying.

Andromeda – 4/10 (5/10, first listen)

Initially, this was my “favorite” of the first 4 songs released (all of these minus Let Me Out). Upon a couple more listens, it’s dropped off a bit, the opposite of Saturnz Barz for me. It’s just boring, really. Just drags on for me and it wasn’t all that great in the first place, as, again, it’s fairly generic. It’s not even a long song, so for it to drag on is really quite the achievement.

Overall: 4/10 (average of the 5 songs)

Needless to say, I’m really not a fan of these new Gorillaz songs. I didn’t really have any sort of expectations going in to them, if anything, I was expecting them to be bad and, unfortunately, my expectations were met to my disappointment. There’s really not that much inherently wrong with most of these songs, they’re just generic and boring. There’s nothing special about them. There’s not much that’s particularly good either.

All that being said, I will most likely NOT be bothering to review the entire album when it does come out on April 28. If I do even bother to listen to the rest of it all, my expectations are set pretty low.

Leave a Reply

